FBLA members perform admirably at recent competition

FBLA to host dodgeball tournament


Daniel Dorry, Staff Writer

Future Business Leaders of America, otherwise known as FBLA, is an organization that provides members with many leadership opportunities and the opportunity to take part in many different activities throughout the school year.

Competitions between high schools are either regional, state, or at the national level, depending on the performance of students within Stroudsburg High School. 

Founded in 1942, the program was introduced to Stroudsburg High School in 1984 by Ms. Celin. The current FBLA advisers for the high school are Ms. Kathy Sickler and Ms. Jodie Haggerty.  They oversee the club year round. The optimal time to join is between September and November, so a student does not miss out on any competitions or experiences.

Members have the chance of earning special recognition through events and awards that are offered, and many gain an edge for college and career success.

There are also many fundraisers for the chosen state charity project. This year the Pennsylvania State Officers for FBLA have chosen the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. The final fundraiser this year is Thursday, March 14, where there will be a Dodgeball tournament at the Stroudsburg Junior High School for grades 8-12 to participate in.

FBLA meets every other week on Wednesdays after school hours in the cafeteria, starting in late September. Stroudsburg’s FBLA program has over 200 members from grades 9-12.

“There is stress at times during the FBLA year, but I do enjoy advising it because to see students being excited about making it to either states or nationals is exciting.” said Sickler.

FBLA Regional Leadership Winners/State Qualifiers for 2019.

1st Place

Accounting II – Ben Reyes

Broadcast Journalism – Amanda Bruckstein, Emily Mars, Madison Imber

Entrepreneurship – William Marina, Conor Savage, Evan Smith

Future Business Leader – Hirali Patel

Health Care Administration – Kayla Bago

Hospitality Management – Rory Dalton, Ayden Hatten, Alec Rump

Insurance & Risk Management – Michael Antal

Introduction to Information Technology – Christina Jones

Introduction to Public Speaking – Taha Vahanvaty

Parliamentary Procedure – Shu-Yu Chen, Connor Banashefski, Andre Green, Parker

Daly, Zachary Landvik-Larsen

Political Science – Sydney Williges

Social Media Campaign – Hannah Persuad, Victoria Robles, Keyanna Safforld

2nd Place

Accounting I – Gigi Schimpf

Accounting II – Salvatore Gallo

Broadcast Journalism – Julia Delaney, Ivana Karataseva

Computer Problem Solving – Brayden Graham

Future Business Leader – Joanna Chen

Help Desk – Nina Goldshmid

Introduction to Parliamentary Procedures – Shahid Khan

Job Interview – Sydney Graves

Parliamentary Procedure – Jared Everett, Kyle Wilson, Jacob Farda, Rayhan Razak,

Victor Price

3rd Place

Banking & Financial Systems – Andrew Marina, Jacob Mohring

Economics – Justin Dit

Marketing – Calvin Leon, Mark McDonald

Network Design – Basil Damra, Jeffrey Pasciak

Organizational Leadership – Guinevere Trunfio

4th Place

Health Care Administration – Ivan Raun

Introduction to Financial Management – Jhonathan Quinonez

5th Place

Introduction to Business ProceduresMaddy Gasper

Introduction to Financial Management – Alyssa Robles

Introduction to Information Technology – Kai Stasulli

Introduction to Parliamentary Procedures – Gavin Hall

Management and Decision Making – Natalia Ruminska, Edlira Sulaj

Management Information Systems – Isabel Almeida, Brittney Wrazien

Personal Finance – Rohit Sachdeva

Political Science – Aubree Voth

6th Place

Introduction to Business Procedures— Ciara Conboy

2018-2019 State only Event Qualifiers:

3D Animation: Team 1: Vasilia Briegel , Paras Briegel, Taryn Silvernale

Team 2: Maggie Trunfio, Joseph Burch

Public Service Announcement: Sergio Butron, Jessica Hall, Hana Weiss

American Enterprise Project: Hirali Patel, Ben Reyes