SHS inducts new members into NHS

NHS celebrates 100th anniversary


Photo via Maddy Gasper

President Gemy Hodzova congratulates the newest members of NHS.

Emma Flanagan, Staff Writer

Covid-19 cannot stop Stroudsburg High School’s National Honor Society. 

This school year, the SHS NHS celebrates its 100 year anniversary. NHS is a selective organization dedicated to community service.

On Tuesday, October 27, NHS inducted its newest junior and senior members. 

In previous years, the induction ceremony took place during the Academic Awards Banquet in the spring. Due to the state-wide shutdown in March, students did not know of their induction until this fall. 

SHS principal Mr. Jeffrey Sodl welcomed the students to the ceremony with a short introduction. 

“When the officers talk about the different pillars of National Honor Society, I really want you to not just hear what they’re saying, but truly listen to what they are talking about,” said Sodl. “We need you in this school. We need you to be the role models.”

The NHS officers went on to talk more about each pillar and what they mean. 

“Today’s induction ceremony into the National Honor Society serves as a formal acknowledgement of your achievement in scholarship, leadership, community service, and character,” said NHS president Gemy Hodzhova, 21′.

The other officers, all 21′, Olivia Waszkielewicz, Caroline Liszewski, Alanna Christmann, and Ellie Wrightsmith lit a candle to symbolize each of these pillars. 

NHS promotes a student’s commitment to learning, a willingness to work without compensation, and a willingness to put others’ interests above their own. Members must demonstrate respect, responsibility, trustworthiness, fairness, care, and citizenship. 

“At a time when everything is different, the ceremony is important because it’s something that keeps to our tradition of dedication to service and the community,” said NHS adviser Ms. Maureen Verwey. 

A video was taken of the event and will be shared with students and parents in the near future.

Below is a full list of the inductees. 

Aya Abdelnaby

Jacqueline Auguliaro

Amina Bhuiyan

Paraskevi Briegel

Jason Chen

David Chung

Alyssa Cobb

Isabella Contino

Joshua Custard

Zoe Delaney

Kevin Dotel

Kevin Duffy

Marissa Duggan

Molly Durney

Emma Flanagan 

Billie Francis

Jack Francis 

Emma Garver

Bailey Gizzo 

Rebecca Hawks 

Mehrin Hossain 

Karissa Karpinski

Jackson Kozma 

Hannah Kryman

Casimir Morgan

Ethan Parfitt

Carly Perez

Amber Pintarich

Jhonaton Quinonez Herrara 

Raven Reid 

Nathan Reish 

Jasmyn Sanchez

Adil Amin Sheikh

Ethan Sodl

Nicole Stallings

Rachel Traub

Matthew Trbuza

Guinevere Trunfio

Claire Weitzmann